Ayodele Oba
2 min readJul 6, 2024

The Other Side of Hope

Photo by Mishal Ibrahim on Unsplash

A windy night lay bare,

trees collapsing into one another,

As a playful child, the wind danced through the trees,

It swept through the town reshaping everything it meets on its path.

It roared so loudly, that it sounded like a thousand freight trains passing by.

It whispered secrets through the leaves, caressing each branch with its violent touch.

It howled through the night,

the whistling winds wove through the willow night.

It stepped its foot on my doorstep,

Its footsteps echoed ominously down the empty halfway.

This familiar stranger slipped through the shadows and stood on my doorstep

It greeted me with a smile as warm as the summer sun,

my voice buzzed with fear as I welcomed it.

As a hospitable host, I handed out a hearty stool,

I gave this stranger a footstool,

But like a disney fairy, it swept me off my feet, onto its turbulent wings, and as a shipwrecked sailor clinging to a piece of driftwood in a stormy sea, I clung to its wings.

It delivered me to a sterile land, where despondency reigns

supreme.

On this island, apathy walks unaided as a ghost figure, whispering indifference into my ears.

Isolation became a relentless companion, that wrapped its arm tightly around my heart, whispering echoes of solitude that reverberated through the soul.

A fragile figure, hunched and weary, carrying a burden too heavy to bear with a faint voice came with a welcome gift- it introduced himself, as helplessness.

A grim specter lurks in the shadow, casting a pall of inevitability over every endeavor. It whispers with a sardonic tone; they call him defeatism, said pessimism.

This is where joy comes to die, said sorrow- a figure draped in heavy dark robes, with a face veiled in shadows.

This is the land where expectations are given mass burial, cynicism echoed to me.

Ayodele Oba

I love words and the power it wields on the human mind and emotion #Storyteller #poet