Ayodele Oba
3 min readSep 25, 2024

I Love Being Alive

(The simple things of life)

Photo by Vizag Explore on Unsplash

On my way back from an appointment on Monday, I stopped by a fast food and ordered fufu, vegetable soup and different species of meat and I used a 60cl bottle of tigernut to step it down.

A little over a week ago, I was surfing through the streets of Instagram when I came across an account that sells dresses. There were different types of dresses, from low back to halter necks, mini dresses and bubu, and I spent quite a few minutes picking dresses that spoke to my soul. I ended up buying 5 dresses because I love them.

It was only in June that I told my friend- Bola, that I would love to go to the beach and we spent two days planning it- food, transport, drinks etc, we went to the beach with a couple of other friends and it was a beautiful day that entailed getting lost in the magnanimity of the ocean, inhaling the fresh air, dancing in the sand and allowing myself the luxury of fantasizing and dreaming about the future.

But there was a time in 2022 when all hope seemed to have been lost, and the world felt lonely and scary.

There were days that hoping felt like a lost cause and an estranged lover. The days were the fog of hopelessness clouded my thought.

Oh, I sit here and I cannot believe there were days when I craved for death and called out for it.

Oh, the days where the thought of sleeping and not waking up was all that I desired.

Yesterday, I was craving ice cream, so I took myself to the nearest cold stone creamery outlet. I bought a chocolate ice cream with waffles and coconut shaving, and I basked in the joy of being able to enjoy the little pleasures of life.

Last month, I upgraded my Netflix package from #1200 to #5000. Later that evening, I woke up and decided I wanted to listen to music, so I opened my boomsplay and was more than happy to relish in H.E.R.’s joy through the song “Take Me There”.

I spent over 30 minutes gisting with my cousin, Bukky, it was nostalgic and beautiful. We belly-laughed so hard that I peed in my panties.

Recently, I fell in love with yoga, meditation and pilates.

On Sunday, I was craving burger and chips and it took me less than 10 minutes to order it from chowdeck.

I took a 15 minutes walk today and spent some alone time with myself and my body thanked me for it.

I saw Indian almond fruits on a tree and got someone to pluck some for me. I washed it and was pleased to devour them like a roaring lion.

I started my skincare journey, recently. Tending and caring for my skin has been quite productive. My skin is glowing and the days of my acne-infested face are over and long behind me.

I love being alive, I love living in the moment. I love having free will, I love how the simple things of life bring me joy. I love knowing that the sun will shine tomorrow. I love doing things that Spark joy in my life. I love hearing the giggles of toddlers; I love watching people fall in love, I love falling in love, and I love the fragility of life. I love the unpredictability of life. I love being here, right here, right now.

I love being human♥️

Oh, to be alive and hopeful!

I love being alive.

Ayodele Oba

I love words and the power it wields on the human mind and emotion #Storyteller #poet